The board

Circomedia is the trading name of the Academy for Contemporary Circus and Physical Theatre. All Board members are trustees of the charity, number 1056852, and directors of the limited company, registration 2928738. All are appointed as individuals and not as representatives of any other organisation. Their jobs are listed for information only.

Claire Williams

Claire Williams is a Bristol-based Finance Director and Chartered Accountant, supporting Charities and Social Enterprises.  With 20 years’ experience, including 10 years at accountancy firm Smith & Williamson, Claire loves using her finance skills to help ‘values driven’ organisations to thrive.

Circomedia is a wonderful organisation to be part of – showcasing cutting-edge circus and physical theatre education and performance, with an impressive range of courses for all ages.  The shows at St Paul’s Church offer access to thought provoking and powerful performances.  At a fundamental level, the power of art and performance to form and shape ideas and to effect change is inspiring!

Amy Dalton-Hardy

Amy Dalton-Hardy is a freelance Consultant, Producer, Strategic Advisor and Mentor. Her mission is to enable artists and organisations to realise their vision, strategically plan, and make it all happen. With a background and specialism in dance, originally training and working as a dance artist, Amy has further expertise in aerial disciplines, learning, participation and outdoor arts. She is a senior leader working across the Midlands region and her work is driven by a desire to support people in achieving greatness in their creative practice and to support projects that deliver arts to and with people who experience limitations of access and opportunity.

Being on the Circomedia board means I get to support the wonderful work of an incredibly progressive and forward-thinking organisation, with pioneering study programmes for the next generation of circus artists. The work the organisation does in supporting artist development, creating opportunities, offering high-quality training and developing talent makes me very proud to be a part of it.

Amy Dalton-Hardy

Trish Brown

Trish Brown is Operations Director at St George’s Bristol, a music venue based just off Park Street in the centre of Bristol. She comes from a background of live music production, project management and business development.  She has a passion for opening up access to arts for all and developing operational models for financial and cultural sustainability across the sector.

I have been a huge fan of the pioneering work Circomedia have done over the years and see them as a cornerstone to the Bristol and beyond creative scene. Their work always holds their values of progressing the world of circus and physical theatre at the centre and I’m delighted to be on the board of such an exciting organisation.

Martin Booth

Martin Booth is the Editor of Bristol24/7, the city’s leading news and entertainment website and free monthly magazine; and the author of the bestselling guidebook, ‘111 Places in Bristol That You Shouldn’t Miss’ (which features Circomedia as one of the chapters). Martin has written for publications including The Times, The Guardian and Time Out, and in 2021 was shortlisted in the local journalism category at the British Journalism Awards. In his spare time, he enjoys cycling and drinking locally-brewed beer, sometimes both at the same time.

To me, Circomedia means cycling across Bristol with my two daughters to get them to their weekly Youth Circus class on time, and getting the bus across town for the annual summer school. It means seeing the exhilaration on their faces when I pick them up and ask them what they have done today. It means seeing them lifted up to have the best fun, to do things they did not believe were possible, and to become better little people.

Martin Booth

Scott Wilson-Evans

Scott is a Strategic Head of Communications for Population Health for Wales’ largest NHS Trust. His job focuses on tackling inequalities across communities and supporting people to live well and live longer. Scott is a chartered communications and marketing specialist, however his original career was as a trained dancer. Scott has a wide breadth of experience in strategic leadership in marketing and communication across a variety of sectors including arts, health, tourism and leisure. Scott is driven by his goal in life to build communities where people can connect and thrive. Aside from his work life, Scott trains in a variety of aerial arts which provides freedom from a busy day.

Being part of the Circomedia Board is truly an honour. This phenomenal organisation is shaping the world of contemporary circus as a leading education provider in the UK. With so much phenomenal work happening across its many courses as well as helping connect communities and provide access into circus- it truly is an organisation to be proud of.”